Chocolate Crackles

4 cups of Rice Bubbles
1 cup fine coconut
8 ozs icing sugar
2 1/2 ozs or 3 tablespoons of coca
8 ozs copha

Stir dry ingredients together, melt copha and pour over them. Mix thoroughly and spoon into paper cup containers and allow to set.

This will make between 2 1/2 or 3 dozen chocolate crackles

Chocolate crackles, are, of course, a cooking classic. I’ve never cooked them myself, but I’ve eaten a lot in my time! They bring back memories of birthday parties and school fetes. I have to admit that I never ate them much after I discovered the the main ingredient is copha.

However, I’ll tell you something interesting about all the recipes contained in the Meandering Martha recipes – there are very few that contain chocolate! (or even cocoa, which I find quite surprising.) It seems that chocolate wasn’t a favoured ingredient between the 1940s and 60s. Was chocolate mostly just a confection? Or just difficult to keep when most kitchens didn’t have a refrigerator? Would be interested to hear your thoughts.

Source: NAA BP257/1, 80/4

This entry was posted in 1940s, Queensland, recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

